Independent Release
By: Sara Lambeth
Photos courtesy of: EL

EL are prog rockers from Arizona featuring members from Daughters of Fission, ZiROH,  Fred Green, and Arc of the Aurora. The local Phoenix super group released their propitious debut EP, "Elusion," September 24, 2014.

ELís masterly-composed EP features one emotive instrumental number and four  heavy rockiní tracks. Overall "Elusion" is rhythmically fantastic, stimulating and catchy in the "off the beaten path" kind of way.

Each band member contributed in the writing process and in creating the structure and flow of the album. It was then mastered at the hands of Ralph Patlan (Megadeth, Flotsam and Jetsam) in Tempe, Arizona.

"Elusion" begins with "Skin Our Knees" and if your ears are anything like mine,  you will be  hooked after only a  few seconds in. "Skin Our Knees" and also the third track, "Doomsayer" both beg to be played live. They each have dynamic building, powerful choruses that are ideal for a crowd to get behind.

Each time I revisit "Elusion," the more I pick up on the subtleties and delicate intricacies woven into the mix. The songs take you on an exploration through the vital intensity of metal fused with the animated groove of progressive rock n' roll

It is hard to say which song is the best, because they are all great, but track two, "80%," seems to capture what EL is all about. And it is all about the prog.

The innovative composition has put "Elusion" on the DaBelly's Best of 2014 list. It is worth your time to check these guys out. 

1. Skin Our Knees
2. 80%
3. Doomsayer
4. The Illusionist
5. The Cave
Release Date: September 24th, 2014

Jason Prichard - Vocals/Drums
John Banks - Guitar/Vocals
Justin Beemer - Guitar
Samuel Lersch - Bass


Return to DaBelly

© 2014   DaBelly Magazine.  All Rights Reserved.